| | |
Fitzgibbon Cup 2015


Tickets available in Moylish from GAA Ticket Van.
Matches in Rathkeale and Na Piarsaigh  - tickets available at the gate.


Under 16 Free
Students & OAP’s €5
Day Ticket €10
Weekend Ticket €15

PRESS RELEASE: 2015 Independent.ie

2015 Independent.ie Higher Education GAA Hurling Championships Weekend, hosted by Limerick Institute of Technology, launched

Former LIT stars Davy Fitz, Willie Hyland, Paul Browne and Eoin Kelly present

LIT President warns that moving competitions to pre-Christmas would clash with exams

Thursday, 22 January 2015: Limerick Institute of Technology (LIT) President Dr. Maria Hinfelaar has today said that hosting this year’s colleges hurling finals weekend is an opportunity for the institute to showcase its pedigree in the competition

Speaking at the launch today of the Independent.ie Higher Education GAA Hurling Championships Weekend, which will be hosted by LIT on Friday 27th and Saturday 28th of February next, Dr Hinfelaar said the weekend is a special one in not just the colleges’ sporting calendar but the wider GAA one.

Today’s launch at LIT was attended by some of the institute’s Fitzgibbon stars of the past, including Tipperary’s Eoin Kelly, Willie Hyland of Laois and Limerick’s Paul Browne as well as manager Davy Fitzgerald, who this year is into his 13th year of involvement in a coaching capacity with the institute.


“I am delighted that we are hosting the Fitzgibbon Cup finals weekend this year. We have an excellent team at LIT to make the event a high profile success for all the participating teams, their back room staff, spectators and sponsors. We are hoping to be here participating ourselves of course but regardless of that, we will be putting on a memorable weekend for everyone attending,” said Dr. Hinfelaar.

“This year is also the 10th anniversary since our first Fitzgibbon Cup title so it’s a nostalgic year for us and it was great to have our 2005 captain Eoin Kelly (Tipperary) here with us today for the launch. It certainly brought back great memories.

“We have built a fantastic reputation in the Fitzgibbon Cup over the years, not least since Davy Fitzgerald came on board as our coach/manager. We have had some incredible players wear our jersey, from Eoin Kelly to Jackie Tyrell, Kieran Murphy, Willie Hyland, Joe Canning and many more. The competition means a lot to us so hosting it this year is a real honour for us and we are looking forward to a great weekend.”

Speaking on behalf of the competition’s new sponsor Ger Keville, Independent.ie Sports Editor said “Independent.ie is Ireland’s premier destination for sports, complete with up to date coverage and news of all competitions. As the major sponsor of the Fitzgibbon Cup we are excited to be able to provide even more coverage of such a prestigious competition, loved by Irish people.”

The semi-final of the prestigious Independent.ie Fitzgibbon Cup will be hosted at the Moylish campus on Friday 27th February. The Final will be hosed at the Limerick Gaelic Grounds on 28th February. In addition, Limerick Institute of Technology will also HOST the Independent.ie sponsored Ryan and Fergal Maher Cups, a total of six semi-finals on Friday and three finals on Saturday, as well as the Corn Padraig MacDiarmada final on the Friday of what promises to be a fantastic weekend of Hurling.

Dr Hinfelaar also said that suggestions of bringing colleges GAA championships forward from their current slot in the first quarter of the year to before Christmas would interfere with exam preparation time.

“The formula currently in place is a successful one and works very well. Having the championships running from the end of January into February gives plenty of for teams to prepare but, more importantly, it does not interfere with the exams schedule.

“Here at LIT, and the same applies for many third level institutions, we have first semester exams in December and moving the championships back to that time of the year would interfere with the academic programme. If moving the competition back to then is going to solve one problem, it’s going to create a far bigger one,” she said.

The Fitzgibbon Cup was first competed for in 1912. The first 30 years of Fitzgibbon were dominated by UCD and UCC, with UCG winning occasionally. QUB took part for the first time in 1946, and in the 1960s Trinity, the University of Ulster in Coleraine, and NUI Maynooth joined. In the late 1980s all the teams in Division 1 of the Higher Education League were admitted, and in the 1990s several new third level institutes became participants. The trophy was first purchased in 1912 by Dr. Edwin Fitzgibbon, Capuchin friar and a professor of philosophy in UCC, who donated most of his annual salary to purchase it.

The number of clubs competing rises to 15 this year with the inclusion of Maynooth University and Ulster University Jordanstown in the top tier. This year’s final will take place in the Gaelic Grounds at 7.30pm on Saturday February 28th and will be televised live on TG4.

Follow all the action from the Independent.ie HE GAA Championships including video previews and highlights on www.youtube.com/HigherEdGAA match updates via @HigherEdGAA and GAA Higher Education on Facebook with fixtures, match reports and previews on www.Independent.ie and www.he.gaa.ie




Study @ LIT

Current Students

Campus Life

Enterprise & Research


Flexible Learning
International Office
Services & Facilities
Learning Support
Online Resources
Financial Assistance
Art & Design
Business & Humanities
Sports & Recreation
Clubs and Societies
Student Union
Student Radio
Culture & Community
News & Events
Millennium Theatre
Enterprise Ladder
Hartnett EAC
National Franchise Centre
Research @ LIT
Postgraduate Courses
Research Centres
Development Office
European Projects
Staff Search
Contact Details
Academic Calendar
Governing Body
Information Compliance
Sign In